Home Advisor Angie's List & Thumbtack Review: HOW TO QUIT THEM & CONTROL YOUR DESTINY 2019

Home Advisor, THumbtack, Angie’s LIst Review: What should you know about using these websites as a construction business, contractor, or other small business?
How do you quit using Home Advisor? Should you use Home advisor? Should you use Houzz? Is it a good idea to advertise with Home advisor? This video is FREE and PRACTICAL advice on what you should do with your small business.

https://feedbackwrench.com
https://facebook.com/feedbackwrench
https://patreon.com/feedbackwrench

when you first start out as a construction company or a general contractor you’re going to want to use home advisor and thumbtack to get some reviews and get some reps under your belt. in fact, HomeAdvisor and thumbtack can be one of the best tools to get your first couple of clients, but I insist that you invest in your own website, Google my business account, and your own digital footprint rather than using thumbtack, Angie’s list, or home advisor.

in this video I also talked about how home advisor and thumbtack and Angie’s list arnott long-term solutions because they’re only as good as the Google dominance the enjoy. as soon as Google decides that they would rather have their own solution pop up in the local snippet, home advisor, thumbtack, house and Angie’s list are no longer going to be driving lots of leads. in fact, when you think about it, home advisor and Angie’s list are probably some of the riskiest investments you can make since they are a publicly traded company.

28 Comments

  1. Ronald Berly on September 24, 2020 at 8:11 am

    They took money from my card if I authorize they are stealing the money, very bad not recomigning this application Thumbtack 👎👎👎👎👎

  2. Just Openers on September 24, 2020 at 8:11 am

    What do you think about Handy ?

  3. JoyceDawn100 on September 24, 2020 at 8:18 am

    Thank you so much! :)N You are definitely looking into the future as well as the present. Worth the work.

  4. k m on September 24, 2020 at 8:18 am

    Scamgies list and scamadvisor

  5. MeLinda Kann on September 24, 2020 at 8:19 am

    DO NOT SIGN UP FOR Angies List AS A BUSINESS OWNER. They have stolen $2100 from me in a disingenuous contract. I began to question why my leads were not as promised, in quantity/budget/quality. Then I was told that I, an interior designer, was in the home remodeling category with architects and contractors, after 7 months. That sales rep was then magically no longer working for the company. After 2 months in dispute and "research" they claim, from recorded calls/investigation that they won’t share, that I agreed to be in that category because Interior Design was saturated. So, they expect me to believe that I agreed to pay $2100 for unqualified leads.

    I was told that I would be in zones of high worth – that AL clients are discerning and spend more. I received a quote for a closet in mid-town with a total budget of $2500.

    The leads are garbage – absolutely nothing of quality or merit. I haven’t spoken to anyone with a budget over $5k. In admission of their crap service they offered to refund me half of what I already paid, if I continued my contract or hold me hostage by charging 35% to cancel. They duped me, a sole proprietor startup, and continue to use the weight of their name to bully people into paying them more money.

  6. Tory on September 24, 2020 at 8:19 am

    Not going to lie I made quite a bit of money off of thumbtack. I would always be professional with the customer and give them a great product. It got to the point that it was just word of mouth. But this was 6-7years ago, not sure what it’s like now.

  7. matchalatte on September 24, 2020 at 8:23 am

    I must say, 10 years ago I landed a whale of a project off my free ad on Angie’s List. They called for advise on a front door and ended up hiring me as remodel consultant ant and interior decorator on whole (huge) house. Yet- they would not let me take pictures of finished product (although in contract) and never posted reviews. Oh well. Moral: free listings work. I would never spend money on ads

  8. k m on September 24, 2020 at 8:30 am

    Stay away from scamgies list and scamadvisor. They will run ur business in the ground

  9. Judaica Man on September 24, 2020 at 8:30 am

    Home Advisor sent me a porch contractor who they claim was "vetted" but
    whose address did not exist in real life! We gave him a deposit of $1000
    but delay after delay left us no choice but to cancel him. I gave him a
    negative feedback as he has not responded to our phone calls. My mom
    who hired him based on HA recommendation is 90 years old! We contacted
    HA but they just sent us some addresses what we can do to complain,,,,
    but they themselves say they are not responsible! Cyber
    robbery enablers!

  10. Roberto Chavez on September 24, 2020 at 8:30 am

    Angie’s list purple are unethical, I got screwed up with around 2000. If you are trying to get costumers, I’d tell you not to try Angie’s list. My experience with them was terrible cause they made me pay them when I got not results in getting costumers.

  11. RiDell Cassy on September 24, 2020 at 8:32 am

    Thank you!

  12. Jacopo Montalenti on September 24, 2020 at 8:34 am

    I don’t know about the other 2 company but Thumbtack is a scam

    I gave them plenty of occasions to fix the lie. They let a client (probably a scammer or fake account) tell about my business.

    He left a 1-star review after he lied about hiring me

    He said he "hired" me, and he never did, I never got paid I never even knew his name I just told him I wasn’t doing the type of work he required
    .

    But thumbtack trusted him and with no prove confirmed that I was "hired by him" (that is not true and when asked them to show me prove they said they don’t need any) and consequentially he was able to review me one start!

    When I never had any interaction with him other than telling him I couldn’t do his type of job.

    (and thumbtack was able to read our correspondence and confirmed to me he was not the type of job I was filtering as leads!)

    Not only they made me automatically pay for his lead because he lied about the type of job and made me spent 30$! But they allowed a person I paid 30$ (a fake person) to rate me over a service I never gave!?

    and I spent 1 hour with your customer service to be told it was okey he can lie about me I need to answer him in the review, and they didn’t want to delete the fake review (nor give me back the money obviously, but that is their standard business).

  13. theberrybest on September 24, 2020 at 8:36 am

    I used home advisor. Once was good. Now they’re garbage. Angie’s list is the same. All garbage.

  14. James Bowman on September 24, 2020 at 8:43 am

    Very good info! Knew the google services was coming didn’t know about the extension.

  15. M Lee on September 24, 2020 at 8:44 am

    Good info. Do you think it’s possible for a business without a physical location to benefit somehow from this strategy?

  16. Reviews Insight on September 24, 2020 at 8:46 am

    Very true and Accurate information..Thanks For sharing..
    Hey Guys!!
    👉Anyone want Natural and Keyword Rich 5Star Reviews For Google My Business..Facebook..Yelp..any website.. anywhere.. Just Msg me.👌

  17. TorranceJPlaylist on September 24, 2020 at 8:50 am

    Thumbtack has been great to me. The majority complain because they dont know how to hustler or run a business. It cost to play. A 10 dollar lead turned into a enjoyable 1,000 dollar job.

    Google My BUSINESS will kill some of these third party sites fscts, which means you will habe to be a real business with a real website, google my business.

  18. RollingTHE10 on September 24, 2020 at 8:54 am

    It totally makes sense thanks so much for info I just created my website http://www.handyman206.com.

  19. splanzza on September 24, 2020 at 8:55 am

    If I could I would give them (thumbtack) ZERO stars. Or even better if I head means I would sue them. I am one of professionals that used Thumbtack to find work. As other people in reviews below, I concur that they constantly change. And they change because their greed pockets are getting bigger. They became completely ridiculous and somewhat of a bully type of business. Now they want complete control over your payment method and your money will flow out of your account like fire department when it hooks up to a hydrant. For nothing! Zero results. I have signed up as a customer as well in attempt to understand better their operations manual. For everyone who is that curious I strongly suggest to research who is their CEO and perhaps you’ll get better idea. I am getting ready to bring them to court. Shameful and mafia alike operation. Silicone valley startup wannabe. They will play you in a certain way, potential customer in a completely different way and all there is left is a single CLICK. So easy, so convenient and your hard-earned money is gone. Every single customer that I got a chance to meet and see in person did not have a clue that pro’s get charged to be on thumbtack. Thumbtack is not a scam but a major RIPOFF. Do not allow them to suck a penny out of you!

  20. John Trotter on September 24, 2020 at 8:55 am

    Man! You just made so much sense! All I did was download the "Google My Business" app and next thing I knew, awesome things started happening! But just like most, I want what I want and I want it NOW! LOL So I continue to try something else, something else, and something else lol and just realized nothing took me as far as google has in just a little amount of time. Well lol Google is taking Over! It would be wise to get in now! Thank you for the info! Awesome! Now I’m just trying to figure out how to combine two businesses in one! Shouldn’t be too hard 😬 they both have to do with service, creativity, a good eye, a love for perfection and it being done right lol. Graphic Design and The Trades! And hoping business picks up!

    Hey thanks again man! Awesome info!

  21. Mr. Randallinc. on September 24, 2020 at 9:01 am

    this was great great marketing information in general fuck. thanks bro !

  22. RollingTHE10 on September 24, 2020 at 9:03 am

    Does anyone know about the basic digital marketing package cost?

  23. splanzza on September 24, 2020 at 9:04 am

    Crooks x 10! Do not give them your hard earned money!!!

  24. felix karlishev on September 24, 2020 at 9:06 am

    Thank you so much I’m done with thumbtack they started out great but now they are just robbing people, leads are super expensive, they are pushing this autopay which no one in their right mind would ever go for. I have 200 5 start reviews on thumbtack but it’s like you said they own it and unless people use thumbtack no one will see it. Anyway going to invest in google my business.
    Thanks

  25. Vann H on September 24, 2020 at 9:06 am

    Google Local Services is up and running.

  26. Mow Joe Team on September 24, 2020 at 9:07 am

    Going through all the good and bad about HA, AL and TT, this video says it all. You have put on one of the most informative informational videos that have heard, seen and taken notes from and a long time. Thank you so much for getting through my thick skull and talking about investing in you own website. I have a google my business and plan on investing in that and not these other companies like HA, AL or TT. Thank you again.

  27. Luis B on September 24, 2020 at 9:07 am

    How do you embed your google my business link to your website. Is it just the link that you copy and paste from the listing when you click SHARE ?
    Also how do you do an extension to your google listing. What does that mean? And can you tell me a good safe plugin to add reviews to the site. I’m using a service called Get Reviews to display them in my website but it costs me $99 a month. Although it also provides a way to send a customized text invitation to my customers to leave a review.

  28. Ruvim Lypyak on September 24, 2020 at 9:08 am

    Thanks for video and information. I like it

Leave a Comment